Currently

I feel like my brain’s been all over the map lately – there’s no way January is almost over! ย In an attempt to reinstate some semblance of order, here are a few things that made my month.

A long overdue visit from my high school best friend

Kira’s train arrived pretty late on Thursday night, so we opted to sleep in on Friday and then do what we do best – brunch!!

I dragged her Juliette, my new favorite spot in Williamsburg, for an un-freaking-believable brunch. By far one of the best meals I’ve had lately.

I went with the Eggs “Forestiere” (sourdough garlic toast, wild mushrooms, creamed Tuscan kale, artichokes & fried farm eggs)

Kira went with the Warm French Green Lentil Salade (with brunoise root veggies, persillade & bruleed goat cheese) – it looked gorgeous, but not quite enough food for brunch!

The atmosphere at Juliette is French bistro mixed with a garden escape. Since it was a Friday, we managed to snag a table in the foliage-filled atrium. Such great ambiance for hours upon hours of girl talk.

Post-brunch Manis... yolo?

Post-brunch manicures… yolo?

4 mimosas (each – duh) later, we were giggly and eager for a girly treat. PSA – be careful what nail polish you choose out after generous amounts of champagne. Within minutes of spotting the nail art, we went for glitter and cherry-infused decals. But hey, they made us happy! And while they make look a little Katy Perry-ish, who doesn’t love Katy? And naturally, our matching tattoos and Catbird rings. Cuz we’re cheeseballs.

Beers and Jenga at Spritzenhaus #gamefaces #soserious

kira

my babe!

Catching up on movies, books & TV

I finally saw ‘American Hustle’! While some parts were definitely slowwwww, I enjoyed it. For me, Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence were the shining stars. JLaw is brilliant, period. Spirit animal forever.

hustle

I also just finished Dave Eggers’ new novel The Circle, and LOVED it. I couldn’t put it down for the first 2/3, and while I didn’t love the ending, it was a quick, compelling read that really forces you to think about how much technology and social media have overtaken our lives.

circle

While I had major issues with Season 2 of ‘Girls’, Season 3 is bringing it. Hannah’s version of OCD really resonates with my own, and Lena’s ability to highlight a different aspect of the disease than what’s typically shown in the media is really comforting.

girls

What are your favorite reads/shows lately? Can you believe it’s February already?!

xo

Linds

2 thoughts on “Currently

  1. I love that you & you best friend have matching tattoo’s — cute ones as well! I saw Ameican Hustle and have to agree about it being slow. It’s not that i didn’t enjoy it, because I did, however I don’t think it was as wonderful as he academy awards made it out to be. You agree?

    • Aw, thanks Jessie! We did it on a whim a while back – the tattoo is two little chain links (we’re both huge Fleetwood Mac fans, so it represents the song ‘The Chain’ and we’re just dorks, haha). Definitely agree on the movie, not sure if it’s as great as it’s being hyped up as. I also had a hard time following it at times – but I did love the women’s costumes!

Leave a Reply

