Recent Eats and Treats

Today was a bit of a lazy day, spent doing resume work, sending out applications, unpacking the last of the luggage from London (yes, I know I got back in December…unpacking takes me sooo long!), a quick gym sesh… nothing special.  Thought I would share some of my recent meals, since it’s been such a luxury to have a kitchen where I can actually have space for more than 2 ingredients!

As an avid food blog reader (reader = lurker… I have yet to get over my nerves and start commenting!), I’ve definitely found inspiration to make delicious, healthy, and aesthetically pleasing meals a priority.  While I love a cupcake as much as the next girl, reading food blogs has made me appreciate the art behind food, the joy behind the cooking process, and, perhaps most importantly, the trick behind not having to diet: have anything you want, in moderation.  Plus, I love me a cupcake! Trust your gut (literally!).  While I still struggle with instinctual eating, the blog world has opened my eyes to the process of enjoying food and cooking meals that nourish not only the body but also the soul (am I sounding Oprah enough for you)?! Cheesy, but true.

So here are some of my recent food voyages…

Breakfasts these days have been varied, but I’ve found myself leaning more towards sweet than savory:

yogurt bowl with coffeez

In the bowl: container of Yoplait plain Greek yogurt, 1 banana, cheerios, sprinkle of Trader Joe’s pumpkin spice granola, cinnamon, spoonful of almond butter

pumpkiny oatmeal

In the bowl: pumpkin oatmeal (made with one packet instant oatmeal, 1/3 cup pumpkin, 1/3 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup water), cinnamon, topped with 1/2 banana and clementine slices, sprinkle of pumpkin spice granola and almond butter. soooo good!

I’ve been in a bit of a lunch rut, eating pretty much the same thing every day… but if it isn’t broken, don’t fix it?! Maybe I’ll get sick of it soon.  Today just wasn’t that day.

turkey wrap, best apple ever

In the wrap: 1 laughing cow swiss wedge, 1/3 avocado, roasted red pepper hummus, turkey slices, spinach. Wrap was a whole wheat Joseph’s tortilla. Accompanied by the largest fuji apple known to man.

Other notable eats today?  Delicious snack of Trader’s Joe’s cranberry goat cheese with triscuits. So.damn.good. Pictures don’t do justice. Buy it now!

Trader Joe's cranberry goat cheese, you know what's up.

The picture is yellow, I’m sorry!!! Tried editing but I’m still a newbie at this.  I will get better!

Like I said, food blogs have been a part of my life for a long time. As a self-described introvert, I’m working on exerting myself and finding the confidence to join the blog community that has helped me so immensely.  I’m working on reaching out in order to help others in the same way the blog world has helped me to focus on my innate passion for wholesome, delicious food and the joy behind its preparation. My goal this year is to get over my fear of putting myself out there, and (in the words of Nike) just do it!!!

On another note, I’m sensing some chocolate in my near future…. balance is key, people!

Night!

xoxo
Linds

Leave a Reply

