ABCDEFoodie Challenge

Bad Blogger Absence!

In between graduating from Boston University, applying to potential jobs, and visiting my much-missed college girlies, TrufflesofTruth has been sorely abandoned. What better way to jump back into the swing of things then with a fun survey circulating the foodie blogosphere?! I’m a weirdo with a repressed love for surveys and random questions, so this ABC challenge that I stumbled upon on Janetha’s blog seemed like a fantastic segue into a more regular blogging schedule!

A is for Apple, what’s your favorite variety?  Fuji girl all the way, though when they’re looking less than fuj-tastic i will settle for gala or pink lady (but the pink ladies can be a little sweet for these taste buds!)

B: is for Bread, regardless of nutrition, calories, or whole grains what is your favorite type to have a nice big piece of? I love any super-textured bread – favorites recently are the oat bread my mom gets at whole foods (and fondly refers to as “old people bread”), and another oldie-but-goodie is the rosemary foccacia from Roche Brothers and the garlic stick ciabatta from shaws (literally whole cloves of garlic packed into the bread like raisins! Phenomenal, and a necessity for any Italian pasta dinner. Specifically my turkey meatballs with basil that are baller). Clearly I’m a carb queen.

C: is for Cereal what is your favorite kind currently (just one!) Currently– This is a tough one, I’m a cereal ho! If I could only pick one… Kashi Go Lean Crunch. Or Puffins (the original)! Mainly I just like that the cereal is named after an adorable bird. I’m partial to cute food names.

Love.

More Love.

D: is for Doughnuts, you might not currently be eating them but what kind do you fancy? Not a huge donut fan in general (give me a cupcake or cookie anyday, but the density of donut’s just doesn’t do it for me!)…but I’d never complain over an plain-old fashioned donut dipped in hot chocolate every once in a while!

E: is for Eggs, how would you like yours prepared? Friend, poached, egg white scramble with spinach and feta, hard boiled and sliced on bread with avocado and tomato….love eggs!

F: is for Fat Free, what is your favorite fat free product? i eat non-fat Greek yogurt (plain chobani) every.single.day without fail, topped with bananas, berries, and almond butter… but Greek yogurt is my fave at any meal – on tacos, topping my mom’s amazing shrimp curry, on my coconut lentil soup – it’s the perfect multifunctional food!

G: is for Groceries, where do you purchase yours at? Now that I’m back at home, it’s been Shaw’s, with the occasional Whole Foods splurge. I miss my easy Trader Joe’s access in Coolidge Corner in Brookline!

H: is for Hot Beverages, what is your favorite hot drink? Coffeeeee. Home-brewed Sbux with almond milk and stevia, with a close runner up being the Harrod’s strong breakfast tea I brought back from my semester in London (mostly I love it because of the pretty can it came in, not gonna lie…)

brit breakfast tea courtesy of Harrods

I: is for Ice Cream, pick a favorite flavor and add a fun topping. Most people think this is disgusting, but my mom and I used to always get the same thing at our local ice cream shop when I was younger and it remains my favorite to this day: mint chocolate chip ice cream (but only the green kind!) with strawberry sauce and whipped cream. Such a bizarre combo, but it’s amazing,  swear! For a more classic route, I also love chocolate chip cookie dough with hot fudge.

J: is for Jams or Jellies, do you eat them, and if so what kind and flavor? I love cheese and crackers with a dollop of jam as a snack – my favorite is Bonne Maman Four Fruits preserves (Cherries, Strawberries, Redcurrants, Raspberries) – on a family vacation in France, our daily breakfast would be a fresh baguette, this jam, nutella, and cheese. Followed by copious amounts of cafe au lait. The French know what’s up.

Best. Jam. Medley.

K: is for Kashi, name your favorite Kashi product? Keeping it classic – Kashi GoLean Crunch cereal (though I love GoLean Crisp, classic GoLean, Heart to Heart) – let’s be honest, Kashi can do no wrong! The TLC crackers are to-die-for as well, especially Original 7 grain! Give me a box and a tub of hummus and I am one happy camper.

L: is for Lunch, what was yours today? Lunch today was completely uninspired (on my way back to Boston from Manhattan, so it basically consisted of larabars, yogurt, and copious ice coffee stops), but yesterday’s brunch/linner was fab – tuna nicoise salad with a side of fries coated in duck fat and truffle oil… can we say foodgasms galore?! Missing the NYC food scene already! My wallet, however, does not miss NYC.

M: is for microwave, what is your favorite microwave meal/snack? Love a simple microwaved sweet potato, doused in ketchep and laughing cow cheese wedges (eliciting gags from the rest of my family, but it’s truly delish!)

N: is for nutrients, do you likes carbs, fats, or proteins best? I’m happiest when I have a combo of all 3!! Is that cheating? There’s nothing better than a slice of grainy, rustic bread with a slice of cheese and avocado – why limit to one category?!

O: is for oil, what kind do you like to use? I usually stick to olive, but recently have been experimenting with coconut (this recipe from Faith at Gracefulfitness will knock your socks off), peanut, and sesame for stir-fries.

P: is for protein, how do you get yours? greek yogurt, chicken, eggies, the occasional steak, beans, quinoa, CHEESE, almond butter, hummus…

Q: is for Quaker, how do you like your oats? I’m known as the oatmeal freak in my circle of friends – it’s a winter staple I couldn’t live without! My latest favorite combo is 1/3 cup oat bran or 1/2 cup rolled oats, mixed with 1/2 cup almond milk + 1/2 cup water, and one thinly sliced banana. Mix in 1 tbsp cocoa powder at the end – tasted like chocolate banana pudding and so phenom.

R: is for roasting, what is your favorite thing to roast? roasted asparagus, carrots, and cauliflower for the win! sprinkled with olive oil, sea salt and herbs de provence… amazing.

S: is for sandwich, what’s your favorite kind? Turkey, swiss, avocado, and hummus with spinach. Oldie but goodie.

T: is for travel, how do you handle eating while traveling? In the words of my homegirl Bethenny Frankel, “you can have it all, just not all at once!” — I could never resist gelato in Italy or cheesy crepes & escargot in Paris, just do it in moderation and stop when you’re full! Eat slow, talk fast with great company, and live in the moment! Wine and beautiful cocktails also don’t hurt!

Divine Escargot at Fouquet's in Paris

Gelato by the Louvre in Paris

Duck/Goat Cheese Crepe, Caramel/Chocolate Crepe in Paris

Red Velvet Cupcake at Hummingbird Bakery in London!

Cappuccino with Hummingbird Floating in the Foam... Too cute.

U: is for unique, what is one of your weirdest food combos? Too many to count! Ketchup on everything (eggs, sweet potatoes), almond butter in yogurt, soy sauce on anything and everything, mint desserts with strawberries, mixing avocado and hummus to make a dip for crackers… my family thinks I’m nuts. I just eat what tastes good to me!

V: is for vitamins, what kind do you take? None, it’s terrible! I do drink 2 Emergen-C packets a day, and iron supplements for my anemia when I remember, which happens less often than it should!

W: is for wasabi, yay or nay? Nay… a bit too spicy for me! But I put the ginger on everything, which I know isn’t technically how it’s done…it’s a bit of an addiction.

X: is for XC Foodie, why is she so awesome? Haven’t checked out the blog but now I’m intrigued!

Y: is for youth, what food reminds you of your childhood? My mom made the best food, and still does to this day. A lot of my childhood food memories revolve around our summers on Cape Cod – Oysters on the half shell (I have the most adorable picture of my then 2-year-old brother downing an oyster straight out of the shell from his booster seat, shocking the patrons around him!), lobster dinners for our birthdays, homemade clam chowder after a day of clamming on the beach, and our house-favorite salmon risotto – I was spoiled to grow up in a family of foodies!

Z: is for zucchini, how do you prepare it? roasted with salt, pepper, and olive oil

Pick a letter – what’s your answer?

Loved doing this! Surveys have a way of reminding you of times long forgotten… I now have a serious craving for clam chowder! Summer time is in full swing and I couldn’t be happier, especially to rejoin the blog world with a purpose.

Night and Sleep Tight!

xoxo

Linds

One thought on “ABCDEFoodie Challenge

Leave a Reply

