Saturday Breakfast: Cottage Cheese with Tomatoes & Basil

The small pleasures of a Saturday morning (later alarm, a few more moments to stay curled up amongst the pillows, the freedom of a full day ahead) definitely extend to my breakfast ritual. Or rather, lack thereof. I typically eat the same thing everyday for breakfast throughout the week, so come the weekend, anything goes.

That’s not to say I don’t still cling to the key ingredients: simplicity and scrumptiousness. Enter my new go-to: cottage cheese, tomatoes and fresh basil. Served with whole-grain crackers and a massive mug of coffee. Always coffee. Always massive.

Simple ingredients? Check. 

  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • grape tomatoes, halved
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • fresh basil
  • whole-grain crackers (optional, but strongly encouraged!)

I was always an adventurous eater as a kid, thanks to parents who introduced me to different foods from different cultures, and who let me make my own decisions about food with one rule: you have to try it once before choosing to hate it. Childhood favorites were eclectic and risky: I loved (and still do) oysters, risotto, mango, any and all fish… pretty gourmet for a 3 year-old, I think.

But when I hated something, I was relentless. I wouldn’t touch it with a 10-foot pole, turning my nose up at canned tuna, mustard, and most of all, cottage cheese. It wasn’t until recently that the thought of the stuff didn’t repulse me. Something about the texture, the curdles – blechhh. But I gave it another shot, on a whim, thanks to Trader Joe’s peachy prices and a general boredom with my eating routines.

Consider me cottage-cheese converted.

What are you breakfast staples? Do you switch it up come Saturday?

xo

Linds

 

 

Leave a Reply

