Weekend Scenes: From BU to Brooklyn

A couple of weeks ago, my best friend from college (Boston University) flew out for a true NYC weekend. AnnaLee lives in North Dakota, so I was hell-bent on showing her an amazing time in the city that never sleeps. But it was also really important to me that she experience the places and people that make me happy. While I was nervous that she might not be up for a Brooklyn-centric weekend, I should have known better – she knows me better than most, after all. She was all for a local Williamsburg weekend balanced out with the perfect dose of not-too-touristy sightseeing.

I picked her up from Penn Station on Thursday night, and immediately got emotional. I hadn’t seen her in over two years, and she’s one of the few people that I know will always be there, no matter what happens or how much time has elapsed. It’s comforting to know that I don’t have to explain myself or my actions around her.

After dropping her bags off at my apartment, I took her to my favorite restaurant around the corner – Anella.

Naturally, we’re of the “order-everything-that-looks-good-and-split-it-all” variety, and there were some non-negotiable dishes on the menu I insisted she had to try.

homemade burrata, pumpkin gnocchi & bread baked in a flowerpot. To die. We naturally followed this with the roasted chicken entree

Homemade Burrata, Pumpkin gnocchi & bread baked in a flowerpot. To die. We naturally followed this with the roasted chicken entree. All washed down with copious amounts of Pinot Noir.

After hours of girl talk and pumpkin beers at Oak & Iron, we snuggled up for some sleep to prepare for Day 1 of our reunion. Which of course, began with brunch – sensing a foodie theme yet? Luckily, she’s as much of a culinary adventuress as I am.

IMG_2329

cheers, bebe

reunited and it feels so good

reunited and it feels so good

Lobster Toast & Champagne Cocktails. Cuz we be classy.

Lobster Toast & Champagne Cocktails. Cuz we be classy.

Filled with food, we made our way to the Brooklyn Botanic Garden. A spontaneous Obama spotting happened – no big deal.

Brooklyn Botanic

Brooklyn Botanic

Isn't she pretty?

Isn’t she pretty? ❤

hi, gorgeous

hi, gorgeous

rose gardens took my breath away

rose gardens that took my breath away

If you’ve never been to BBG, please do yourself a favor and go! It’s absolutely stunning. I cannot wait to return for the Cherry Blossom Festival.

A Sex and the City Moment was mandatory, and fulfilled with a walk across the Brooklyn Bridge – another first!

Charlotte to my Carrie

Charlotte to my Carrie

A SoHo shopping trip and a beautiful tapas dinner at Cata rounded out the incredible day.

Cata's Salted Caramel Ice Cream Sundae. Do it.

Cata’s Salted Caramel Ice Cream Sundae. Do it. Orgasmic.

The next day was another brunch feast, this time at Le Barricou. More shopping, talking, and just catching up. I missed her more than I realized.

IMG_2388

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Mickey to my Minnie

Mickey to my Minnie

How did I get so lucky to have the most amazing girl friends? It was truly a weekend that fed my soul.

friendship1

{via pinterest}

x

Linds

Leave a Reply

