New Year, New Goal – Cook More!

I’ve been dealing with some personal stuff lately that isn’t the easiest to talk about – but soon, I promise! I’ll be ready soon!

With the arrival of the New Year, I wanted to get off to a fresh start, but the past week was tough. So an unexpected visit from my mom was exactly the cure for my winter blues.
Ain't she a beaut?!

Ain’t she a beaut?!

My mom and I have been through everything together. While our relationship is far from picture-perfect (does picture-perfect even exist?), she’s my everything. My most natural reflex in any given situation involving intense emotions (be it happiness, sadness, guilt) is to call her. Even better? After a particularly hard week, to have her show up from Boston on my doorstep in Brooklyn, armed with a bottle of wine and a hug.
I learned my deep love and appreciation for food from her. She’s probably the best cook I know. My brothers and I grew up eating healthy meals loaded with fish, brown rice, veggies – and plenty of buttah!
While she was here, we tried out some new restaurants, and also cooked. Cooking with my mom is like therapy. Just watching her do her thing in the kitchen makes me feel at ease, and I’d like to think I’ve picked up on some of her natural skills in the kitchen.
Spinach & Gruyère Quiche with mandatory mimosas

My mom’s Spinach & Gruyère Quiche with wilted kale, roasted tomatoes & mandatory Mimosas

Bass (caught by us on Cape Cod this summer!) & Veggies

Bass (caught by us on Cape Cod this summer!) & Veggies

Her visit made me remember how much I miss the food shopping and cooking that goes into a nourishing meal. While my New Year’s Resolutions in the past have involved weight loss, a better exercise regiment, less worrying, more “me” time, this year’s is simpler – cook more.
I feel better when I cook. I like knowing what I’m eating, and I like preparing food. It makes me happy. But I also love the restaurant experience – never really knowing what you’re gonna get. It’s a bit of mystery, a bit of romance, and a lot of deliciousness.
(No surprise that my favorite Christmas presents were the Bible and my #1 celebrity crush’s book.)

I’m excited to get back in the kitchen and play around with ingredients, recipes and flavors. Food is fun – and I need to remember that.

What are your go-to recipes for winter – let’s talk comfort food!

What inspired you to learn how to cook?

x

Linds

Leave a Reply

